JCR/Honda wins the Glen Helen 24 Hour endurance race and claims the title for the 5th consecutive year!

Oct 21st, 2013

The 14th annual Glen Helen 24-Hour Endurance race will go down in the history books as one of the all-time greatest battles. For the JCR/Honda team of Colton Udall, Timmy Weigand, David Kamo and Ryan Dudek the start of the race would be more than a feat, as a minor setback would have them at an 8 minute deficit from the second lap of what would turn into a 22 hour game of catch up. The course this year was rougher and tighter than usual, close to 10 miles around, comprised of Glen Helen’s Nat’l and REM MX tracks, The Lucas Oil truck short course, and the neighboring natural terrain consisting of multiple single track trails, sand washes, and rough, square-edged ridgeline trails. All involved, lap times ranged from 20-22 minutes depending on bottlenecks and dust. As the rock-a-round-the-clock chaos continued, The JCR team would chip away at the leaders but not without a blistering pace on their Honda CRF450R. During the night, the time split, would bounce between 20 seconds to 3 minutes depending on dust and planned maintenance pit stops between the JCR Team and the competition. As the final hours of the race were approaching, JCR strategically changed up riders splits and pit stops to maximize speed and efficiency. Finally, near the 20th hour, Hot shot Timmy Weigand would pass into the lead and make it stick for the remainder of the brutal event. After over 24 hours of racing, 70 Laps, and 700 miles, the JCR Honda Team would prevail the winners with a margin of 1:34 seconds, Claiming their 5th consecutive Glen Helen 24-Hour Endurance title.

"Wow! This was one of the closest 24-hours we have ridden. We had a brake set back early in the race that put us at a pretty big deficit right off the bat. The 24 Hour is always a race of attrition so I was glad to have it happen in the beginning. The competition had a really good effort going and it literally took us 20 hours to reel them in and make it stick. We were super blessed to grab the win this time. This was also the first time we have raced a CRF450R in this style of endurance event. With the limited time we had on the bike, it worked out well. We will always continue to push the envelope on technologies and progress the Honda brand and all of our great sponsors. Special thanks to HGA for their technical support on the bike and Rockstar Energy for fueling the team for this long event! Glad to get this one behind us and fully focus on the Baja 1000. Thanks to Chris Boesen, Mike Clark, Chuck Wagoner, and the Hetherington’s for their dedication to our winning 24 hour efforts. Congrats to my racers and Mitchell Hamm who built a spanker bike!" -- Johnny Campbell

Share |